23.11. Backup Folders

If local items are deleted by restoring a backup on the server or linking operations with the server, the Intra2net Groupware Client saves the original versions to special folders. The different types of backup folders for this feature are described below.

23.11.1. Backup Data after Restore

If a folder on the server is deleted and replaced by a new folder with the same name, the Groupware Client recognizes this (using the internal UIDVALIDITY identifier of IMAP). This is especially the case if a backup has been restored on the server that replaces the user's previous data.

All local items are moved to backup folders. This process must not be interrupted by the user, otherwise inconsistencies will occur in the data file. The user is notified of this with a dialog.

A folder called Backup of local data before restore is created in Outlook. Inside this folder are the backup folders with the name of the original folder and a timestamp. The timestamp specifies the time at which the groupware client detected the folder restore on the server and not the time at which the folder restore on the server took place.

Once the local backup folders have been created, the data can be freshly synchronized from the server. To avoid overloading the server, this does not happen automatically for all folders, but only for those opened by the user in Outlook. Alternatively, the user can restart Outlook. In the new Outlook session, the normal behavior of the Groupware Client with synchronization of all folders in the background takes effect again.

The backup folders on the client are not automatically deleted. Therefore, after restoring a backup on the server, we recommend that you wait a few days and then ask users if their data is complete. After that, the backup folders should be manually deleted on all clients.

23.11.2. Backup of local data when resetting to automatic mode

If folders are re-linked, a locally existing folder must be empty before it can be connected to a folder on the server. If the local folder is not empty, the user can either abort the link process or delete the local data.

If you switch back from manual link mode to automatic link mode (back from the one described in Section 23.2.1, „Switching to Manual Linking“), this affects a large number of folders. Therefore, in this case, backup folders are created from the locally available data. These folders appear locally on the same hierarchy level as the connected folder. It gets (backup of local data before folder linking) and a time stamp attached as identifier.

This backup folder contains all of the data that existed in the local folder before the link was made. We recommend that the user manually goes through this backup folder and drags missing data on the server to the folder that is now connected to the server. The backup folder on the client should then be deleted. The backup folder is not automatically deleted on the client.